Balkan region

Working hours
  • Mon – Fri  09:00 – 17:00

The Balkans also known as the Balkan Peninsula, is a geographic area in Southeast Europe with various definitions and meanings, including geopolitical and historical. Historians state the Balkans comprise Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Bulgaria, Albania, Greece, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, and Slovenia.  Most of the republics are parliamentary, excluding Romania and Bosnia which are semi-presidential. All the states have open market economies, most of which are in the upper-middle income range.

Healthcare in the Balkans
  • After the split of former Yugoslavia, ex-Yugoslav countries, inherited Bismarck healthcare system model.
  • Health care system in  is based on universal health coverage
  • EU accession  necessitates harmonization of the health system with EU legislation, especially in areas such as training and mobility of health workers, consumer protection, patient and food safety, pharmaceutical pricing decisions, environmental health risks, and organ explantation and transplantation.